Fuki for Friday

Support this blog by shopping at Amazon.com

Early in the Springtime one of the first flowers I see are these from the plant Petasites japonicus. It’s a strange plant that I aquired years ago at the New Ipswich Children’s Fair.

The flower bud is known as Fuki and Japan and can be prepared as a vegetable after being treated with an alkaline mixture. I grew it for the huge leaves which look almost tropical.It is supposed to be invasive but I find it to be quite well behaved and I like the patch that I’ve established in our old cellar hole.

Japanese Butterbur by John Poltrack on 500px.com
Odd Flowers

 

Japanese Butterbur by John Poltrack on 500px.com
The leaves are enormous, the appear to be tropical

 

Leave a Reply

