Equine Tuesday

Last day to order from Amazon.com in time for Christmas delivery

I love old photos. When I visited my grandmother I remember going to the attic and looking at old family photo albums. It has been my mission for the latter part of my life to scan these photos and make them as available to the largest audience I can find. This blog was created with that purpose.

One of the Google daily themes for Tuesday is #EquineTuesday.  When you live in New Ipswich, you see horses everywhere, especially in Smithville. I have many recent photos but I decided to share a couple of the old scanned ones.

Pulaski Day Float by John Poltrack on 500px.com
Pulaski Day celebration. My grand uncle (John Stanley Poltrack) is seated on the podium with my grandfather (Anthony R Poltrack) to his immediate right. I’m assuming this photo was taken in the late teens or early 1920s.

 

Horseback riding at Playland by John Poltrack on 500px.com
Pony rides at Playland (Rye Beach, NY) in the 1950s.

 

Back in the Saddle Again by John Poltrack on 500px.com
My Aunt Mary on a pony in the 1920s.

 

Chris and Terry on Horseback by John Poltrack on 500px.com
My cousins Chris and Terry on a pony in the 1950s. I think my Aunt Kay must have combed their hair for this shot.

 

Dad by John Poltrack on 500px.com
My dad loved animals. This photo was taken in WWII and I believe the location was Korea. He could get very tan and in this photo he matches the horse.

 

Dad by John Poltrack on 500px.com
Riding bareback

 

One thought on “Equine Tuesday

Leave a Reply

