The Golden Hour

Grey Seals at Coast Guard Beach

Use of my Amazon.com link helps support this website. Thank you.

One of my Cape Cod rituals was an early morning trek to the beach to watch the sunrise over the Atlantic. In the evening I would complete the day by taking a short drive to watch the sun set over Cape Cod Bay. One of the many features of the outer cape.

At home in New Ipswich, I have not found a good vantage point for sunrises and sunsets, although at some point I need to check out Whittemore Hill  which may afford a view of Boston.

In my estimation a great sunrise and sunset will have some broken clouds which will be lit by the sun. The whole process is very dynamic with the light and colors changing rapidly. I usually try to take photos in HDR mode because of the great dynamic range of the light, something we can see but the camera sensor cannot.

On August 4th, we had some storm clouds. They broke in the late afternoon and I realized that the conditions were perfect for a sunset. One favorite view point for me is Witt Road in Jaffrey NH  which offers an unobstructed view of Mount Monadnock over Sawyer’s farm. I wasn’t alone in my quest, I saw two other folks with cameras. These photos were taken at the Golden Hour.

Photograph Mount Monadnock by John Poltrack on 500px
A hint of Crepuscular Rays over Mount Monadnock

Mount Monadnock by John Poltrack on 500px

Photograph Tree at Sunset by John Poltrack on 500px
I love the shape of this tree on the farm, the cows will gather in it’s shade on a hot day.

Tree at Sunset by John Poltrack on 500px

Photograph The Golden Hour by John Poltrack on 500px
Long shadows and reddish golden light, the perfect way to end the day

The Golden Hour by John Poltrack on 500px

Leave a Reply

