Easter in July and other white flowers

Thank you for using my Amazon.com link for your online purchases.

95% of Easter Lilies are grown in Northern California and Southwestern Oregon. They are not hardy in New Ipswich, NH but that didn’t stop me from planting them last year. Most of these plants are discarded from churches after Easter Services and can picked for free from local churches. I don’t find them particularly noteworthy as a lily though and knowing that 300,000 pounds annually of pesticide is used to grown them is distressing.

At one time I had a wonderful collection of Oriental Lilies like ‘Stargazer’ and ‘Casa Blanca’ which had an incredible fragrance.Then came the scourge of the Scarlet lily beetle a disgusting pest that covers itself in its own feces. It spreads disease which eventually killed all my plants.

Even though many years have past since then, I noticed the same red pest on the Easter Lily. They have chewed some holes but not killed the plant. I have an Alstroemeria aka “Peruvian Lily” which seems immune to the ravages. It is in the same order but not same family as the Orientals and Easter Lily.

Easter LilyWhen I retired from HP, a short lived event, my co-workers gave me a gift certificate to Mason Hollow Nursery. I had expressed the desire to have a gift that would grow rather than a clock to count out my final hours on earth. I planted a Retirement Garden which has been thriving. One of the more showy plants is this Hydrangea.Incrediball  Hydrangea
The Gooseneck Loosestrife is an invasive flower, but I don’t care. I have a large bed of it with these goofy flowers which point in a single direction. More flower beds, less lawn to mow and the birds and bees are happier too.
Gooseneck Loosestrife

Leave a Reply

