Polish Funeral

Village Cemetery

Learn more about Post-mortem photography at Amazon.com

Years ago I discovered an album of old photos in my Grandmother’s attic.These two are especially haunting. I later discovered that post-mortem photography was a normal part of America and European culture in the nineteenth and early twentieth century.

My paternal grandparents immigrated to the United States about that time. They would not be able to attend the funerals of relatives back in Poland, all they would have is a photograph.

I imagine that the photographer was sensitive to his subject matter. In the modern era I can imagine folks taking selfies next to the coffin.

Funeral In Poland

Funeral in Poland

Leave a Reply

