Fothergilla gardenii

You can find Fothergilla at Amazon.com

Fothergilla by John Poltrack on 500px.com
I try to pick plants that are a bit non-traditional for the garden. A while back I chose a Fothergilla. This shrub is in the witch hazel family which can be found along the streams in New Ipswich. I have been very happy with this plant over the years. It spreads slowly into a large thicket and has these cool bottlebrush flowers that the bees love. In fall the foliage turns a nice reddish color. Insects leave it alone so it is care free. I have added another variety in my lower garden and I hope it does as well.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

