Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens – Lerner Garden of the Five Senses

I never pass on an opportunity to visit a garden and last weekend I happened to discover the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens. 250 acres of gardens located at 132 Botanical Gardens Drive, Boothbay ME 04537. If you visit, note where you park, it is a bit of a maze (there are shuttle services).
I have too many photos for a single blog, so I will concentrate on the first garden we visited, the Lerner Garden of the Five Senses.
Entrance to the Gardens – discount for seniors 62 and over
Entrance to Garden of the Five Senses
A contrast of colors for the eye
One of many sculptures that grace the garden
A wall of thyme, smell, touch and taste
Also fennel, marine heliotrope and other smells and flavors
What a great way to grow plants
Another “wall” planting
Color and form
Colors
Cage detail, reminds me of a lobster trap. Appropriate forMaine
I gave this seat a try, perfect for those of us in our 60s. Rounded bottom helps you lean into your work
Touch is represented in the Garden
Map of labyrinth
This felt great, but I featured Ginny’s feet not mine… I’m doing that as a service to the faint of heart
Detail of stone work on labyrith
Finally a place I can call home. This is the sense of sound. I can hear the sound of granite
More color
Wonderful pond with loads of dragonflies
More frog than tadpole
Leave a Reply

