823rd Bomb Squad – “The Terrible Tigers”

EdWithCrewMilitaryPhoto

You just never know what you will learn about on the internet. I posted a blog entry for Memorial Day that featured some WWII photos of my father, aunt and uncles. A reader contacted me and told me that he knew of my uncle. The reader (Jeremy) maintains a website “The Heroes of WWII” which features a collection of WWII artifacts and archival material.

I’m learning some interesting stories about my uncle from the links that were provided on Jeremy’s site. One harrowing one was an account of Mission #48 that occurred on April 16, 1944. It is referred to as “Black Sunday” and may be found here. I find it amusing that they refer to Ed Poltrack as “Polecat”, a moniker that has been handed down to all of us with that last name.

My generation was born after the war and it is true that our fathers, uncles and aunts did not talk about the war. It is only in these times as we lose our “greatest generation” that we can take a look back and learn about the sacrifices and dangers of that time.

Ed is still with us and lives in North Carolina. Hopefully we can contact other members of the 823rd via this blog posting.

5 thoughts on “823rd Bomb Squad – “The Terrible Tigers”

  1. This is quite exciting to learn of Uncle Ed's experience in a small measure. Thank you for your diligence in stirring up these treasures. (We may find skeletons in the closet too,if you keep digging,….so be prepared!)

    Like

  2. Hi John,

    I found this blog via the link you posted on the 38th BG website's forums. I have no known family members who served in the 38th BG, let alone the 823rd BS, so can't help you in your search for information, but I hope you pass on my family's thanks to your uncle Ed for his service, allowing us to enjoy our freedoms such as celebrating Independence Day today.

    I apologize if it's inappropriate to post this on your blog, but for some reason I couldn't respond to your post on the 38th BG website!

    Mark

    Like

  3. Your blog keeps getting better and better! Your older articles are not as good as newer ones you have a lot more creativity and originality now keep it up!

    Like

  4. Ask about the “blind Pilot's club…amusing story..our fathers, uncles and aunts did not talk about the war…that's true…my dad was in the 823rd squad and use to tell me amusing stories of drinking and stuff when I was a kid…kept asking him to tell me a war story as I was bored with the drinking stories and finally he did..got all somber and told me a story about a bombing and from then on we went back to stories of drinking, nurses and the guy who use to talk to the planes from the ground…tower..New Guine

    Like

Leave a Reply

